Monday, May 3, 2010


Chop Suey Books is partnering with River City Reads to present Richmond Noir at Gallery Five! Come help us celebrate the selection of Richmond Noir, from Akashic Books, as the first entry in River City Reads, Richmond's new citywide book club!

WEDS, MAY 12, 7:00 PM
Gallery Five, 200 W Marshall, RVA

Readers will include Richmond Noir contributors Mina Beverly ("Gaia"), Tom De Haven ("Playing with DaBlonde"), Conrad Ashley Persons ("Marco's Broken English"), David L. Robbins ("Homework") and Meagan J. Saunders ("Untitled")!

ALSO: editors Andrew Blossom, Brian Castleberry and Tom De Haven, and contributors X.C. Atkins ("A Late-Night Fishing Trip"), Laura Browder ("The Heart is a Strange Muscle") and Anne Thomas Soffee ("Midnight at the Oasis"), on hand to answer questions and sign copies of the book! PLUS music and a cash bar, courtesy of our kind hosts at Gallery Five! We hope to see you there!

For more information about Richmond Noir, River City Reads, Chop Suey Books, and Gallery Five, please visit the links aboce. The River City Reads program is a creation of the Frontier Project. The River City Reads/Richmond Noir poster is designed by Spencer Hansen of Team 8.

Saturday, April 17, 2010

Michele Young-Stone's Book Launch

Please join us tomorrow (Sunday, April 18th) as we celebrate the publication of The Handbook for Lightning Strike Survivors, the break-out debut novel by Richmonder Michele Young-Stone. The reading will take place between 5 and 7 at Gallery 5 (200 W. Marshall St.) and will be accompanied by live music, great food, and plenty of libations. This is a free event, and we welcome you all to attend.

Friday, April 2, 2010

Daniel Courdriet, Joshua Poteat, and Tarfia Faizullah Read On Saturday!

Richmond poets Daniel Coudriet, Tarfia Faizullah, and Joshua Poteat will read from their work at 1708 Gallery on Saturday April 3 at 6pm. The event also will be a book launch for Coudriet’s and Poteat’s new books. Yours truly, Chop Suey Books, will be there selling Josh's and Daniel's books.

Daniel Coudriet’s first book of poetry, Say Sand, recently appeared from Carnegie Mellon University Press. His poems have appeared in Blackbird, The Iowa Review, Boston Review, and other magazines, and his translations of the Argentinean poets Reynaldo Sietecase and Oliverio Girondo have appeared widely. Coudriet teaches at the University of Richmond.

Tarfia Faizullah is a graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University’s MFA program and former associate editor of Blackbird. Her honors include an AWP Intro Journals Project Award, an Academy of American Poets Award, the Ploughshares Cohen Award. Her poems have appeared in The Southern Review, Ploughshares, Poetry Daily, and elsewhere.

Joshua Poteat’s second book, Illustrating the Machine that Makes the World, recently appeared from the University of Georgia Press. He has received numerous fellowships and awards for his poetry, including an Individual Artist’s Grant from the Virginia Commission for the Arts, the 2004 Anhinga Prize, and the Poetry Society of America’s National Chapbook Award. His poems have appeared in such magazines as Virginia Quarterly Review, Blackbird, and Ninth Letter. A light- and text-based installation made in collaboration with Roberto Ventura won Best in Show for InLight 2009. Poteat works at the Martin Agency and teaches poetry workshops at Virginia Commonwealth University.

For more information, contact 1708 Gallery at (804) 643-7829.

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Gina Welch Hits the New Yorker!

More great news for Friend of Suey Gina Welch, whose new book In the Land of Believers just received a nice notice from the New Yorker! You can see the piece here. Interested in learning more? Chop Suey Books has In the Land of Believers on the shelf, so come by and take a look!

Gina recently wrote a piece for Richmond's own The Book Lady's Blog. You can see that here.

Our congratulations to Gina!

Monday, March 29, 2010

Lightning Strikes Twice for Richmond Author!

On Sunday, April 18th from 5-7 pm, Michele Young-Stone will celebrate the publication of her first novel, The Handbook for Lightning Strike Survivors, at Gallery 5. This event is free and open to the public, and will feature live music and great food. Oh, and Michele will be reading from and signing copies of her new novel!

This book has already been picked by Publisher's Weekly as one of 10 debut novels of 2010 to look out for, and is a great read for fans of Alice Hoffman and Wally Lamb. The novel follows two lost souls separated by time and place, from the moment lightning changes their lives until the day it ceases to define them. Intercut with sections from a handbook written by one of the characters, this book is as charged as the lightning that appears throughout.

Michele, herself a lightning strike survivor, is already working on her second novel, though I expect she will be kept pretty busy with all of the attention she will be receiving surrounding this novel.

The Handbook for Lightning Strike Survivors will be released on April 13th, but is available for pre-order from Chop Suey Books for a 20% discount. Call now!

Friday, February 26, 2010

Richmond Noir at New York Deli!


8:00 PM
@ NEW YORK DELI (2920 W Cary St)

featuring readings from contributors X.C. Atkins, Clay McLeod Chapman (The Pumpkin Pie Show, Rest Area), Dennis Danvers (The Watch, Wilderness), Dean King (Skeletons on the Zahara, Unbound), and Howard Owen (Littlejohn, Rock of Ages)

w/ editors Andrew Blossom (Makeout Creek), Brian Castleberry, and Tom De Haven (It's Superman, Our Hero)


The latest volume in Akashic Books' award-winning Urban Noir Series, RICHMOND NOIR features fifteen tales of desperate characters set in diverse locations around the River City! Tonight's readings will touch down in Oregon Hill, Belle Isle, Texas Beach, Shockoe Slip, and Monroe Park! Plus music from the Scott Burton Trio, and the always excellent bar of New York Deli!

Book sales will begin at 8:00. Come early to meet the authors! The readings will start around 8:45, with the performance from the Scott Burton Trio following immediately thereafter. Meanwhile, of course the editors and authors will sign books, so be sure to stay around, have a drink, enjoy the music, and help us celebrate the release of Richmond Noir!

Friday, February 12, 2010

Richmond Noir: Now On Sale!

Richmond Noir, a new anthology of Richmond-based stories published by Akashic Books and co-edited by our very own Andrew Blossom (with Brian Castleberry and Tom De Haven), is now on sale at Chop Suey Books on our Akashic Books shelf! And guess what? All copies of Richmond Noir are ON SALE. Buy Richmond Noir from us, get 10% off the cover price, every day!